Buddhist Observance Days 2017


Introduction on Buddhist Observation Days

The Observance Days are based on the traditional Buddhist calendar of new, full and quarter moons. During new and full moon days, or Uposatha Days, monks would gather to listen to the recitation of the Patimokkha rules. The weekly observance of the quarter moon is when lay devotees gather in temples to observe the precept and listen to Dhamma discourses.

Below is the list of Buddhist observance days for year 2017 based on the Thai calendar.


These days are regularly devoted to quiet reflection at the monastery.
The dates for the lunar calendar are determined by traditional methods of calculation
and are not always on the same day as the astronomical occurrences.


Māgha Pūjā · 11 February (‘Sangha Day’)
Commemorates the spontaneous gathering of 1250 arahants to whom
the Buddha gave an exhortation on the basis of the Discipline (Ovāda Pātimokkha).

Vesākha Pūjā · 10 May (‘Buddha Day’)
Commemorates the birth, enlightenment and passing away of the Buddha.

Āsālhā Pūjā · 8 July (‘Dhamma Day’)
Commemorates the Buddha’s first discourse, given to the five samanas in the Deer Park at
Sarnath, near Varanasi. The traditional Rainy-Season Retreat (Vassa) begins on the next day.

Pavāranā Day · 5 October
This marks the end of the three-month Vassa retreat.
During the following month the extended community of monastery supporters
traditionally offer robe material as part of a Kathina-season alms-giving ceremony.